The Choir WAYS - With All Your Senses

Some love gospel music, others soul while others again prefer pop. In WAYS, we just want to sing and make music that touches your soul, that is full of rhythm and heart and speaks to all your senses. It’s essential for us that the songs we perform deal with important topics, such as courage, hope, freedom, friendship, love, and trust.

Since its birth in 2014, WAYS has been rehearsing and reinventing itself, continuously grooving and growing. We started out as a tiny group of sing-crazy ”loons” with or without note-reading skills. We’ve grown since then and we now count around 30 folks who have fun building a beautiful choral sound, like songs to be able to start a fire in the audience and for that reason just can’t stop grooming our repertoire – we genuinely love rehearsing together.

We also love to perform and generally give one all-night concert a year as sole choir and one with another choir, a concept we call “WAYS meets…” We also give smaller performances from time to time or maybe even participate in a choir competition.

Our highlights of the past years have been performing as guest choir at a concert of the German soulsinger Stefan Gwildis in 2016 and participating in the international choir competition „Sing Berlin“ in 2018 at which we won the 1st prize in the category “Modern Jazz/Pop/Gospel”.

All this would not even be imaginable without our very artistic director Gunars Kalnins or at least it would sound completely different. (Thank you, Gunars!) Over and over again, he succeeds in making us surprise ourselves. Gunars never tires of working with us on our sound, (almost) never despairs of our slight obtuseness when it comes to choreography, he is our hero at the piano, composes wonderful arrangements, and relentlessly teaches us how to really get „our message“ across.

Gunars speaks English with us, thus the rehearsal language is a sort of Denglisch – in other words German and English, often in combination – a famous saying of Gunars’: „Every day is Zwerchfell-day“ (“Every day is diaphragm day”).

The WAYSies come from all over Berlin and the surrounding area. Our rehearsal space is the library of the senior home Seniorenzentrum Pro Seniore in Charlottenburg. Here we meet every Monday at 6:45 – 9:45 p.m.

WAYS - With All Your Senses

Die einen lieben Gospel, die anderen stehen auf Soul und wieder andere sagen „Pop“. Wir bei WAYS wollen singen und Musik machen, die unter die Haut geht, die Rhythmus und Seele hat und alle Sinne anspricht. Wir mögen, dass die Songs, mit denen wir auftreten, von wirklich wichtigen Dingen erzählen, wie von Mut, Hoffnung, Freiheit, Liebe und Vertrauen.

WAYS probt und probiert, wächst und wandelt sich seit 2014. Angefangen haben wir als kleine Gruppe „crazy“ Sangeslustiger mit und ohne Notenkenntnissen. Inzwischen sind wir rund 30 Leutchen, die Spaß an gutem Sound haben, die wollen, dass die Songs beim Publikum zünden, und dafür voller Freude miteinander üben. Zweimal pro Jahr treffen wir uns für ein ganzes Chor-Wochenende voller Musik.

Wir treten gerne auf, entweder in abendfüllenden Konzerten alleine oder zusammen mit einem anderen Chor unter dem Motto: „WAYS meets…“. Dazu kommen noch kleinere Auftritte bei Festivals oder auch mal ein Wettbewerb.

Highlights der vergangenen Jahre waren der Auftritt als begleitender Gastchor in einem Konzert mit dem deutschen Soulsänger Stefan Gwildis (2016) und die Teilnahme am internationalen Chorwettbewerb „Sing Berlin“ (2018), bei dem wir den 1. Preis in der Kategorie Modern Jazz/Pop/Gospel gewannen.

Ohne unseren künstlerischen Leiter Gunars Kalnins wäre all das nicht denkbar. Sein Klavierspiel beflügelt unsere Songs (Danke, Gunars!). Er schafft es immer wieder, dass wir uns selbst überraschen. Gunars wird nicht müde, mit uns am Chorklang zu arbeiten, verzweifelt (fast) nie an unserer Begriffsstutzigkeit, wenn es an Choreographie geht, ist unser Held am Piano, schreibt außerdem wunderbare Arrangements und wird nicht müde, uns dazu zu bringen, „die message“ wirklich rüberzubringen.

Noch was: Gunars spricht Englisch mit uns. Unsere Chorsprache ist dementsprechend Denglisch – also Deutsch und Englisch, gerne kombiniert: „Every day is „Zwerchfell-day“.

Die WAYSies kommen aus ganz Berlin und Umgebung. Unser Probenraum ist die Bibliothek des Seniorenzentrums Pro Seniore in Charlottenburg. Da treffen wir uns jeden Montag von 18:45-21:45 Uhr.